Man Pilots Craft to Mach 234

CR 39/622

Billy:
Good, then I’ll take a somewhat closer look at your ship, if you don’t have anything against it? If the thing zooms off, then you’ll just have to interrupt the drawing and bring the mill back on course.
Semjase:
80. You’ve planned a few things, yes?
Billy:
Exactly, I’ve always wanted to see if I can circle such a thing around myself. I’ve always watched you closely and now know a bit about the control and the initial start-up of the drive. If you have nothing against it, then I’ll play around with it a little.
Semjase:
81. You’re really good; you actually mean your words seriously.
Billy:
Did you think, then, that I was joking?
Semjase:
82. I truly accepted that.
Billy:
Well, then you now know that it is no joke. Now, quietly get going with the drawing; I will only circle around the Earth a few times, so – you see, the mill is already zooming off, so now a little more steam and …
Semjase:
83. Arimo, arimo…
Billy:
What do you mean?
Semjase:
84. Halt I said; halt, halt…
Billy:
I didn’t understand that – so, the mill stands; what’s wrong, then?
Semjase:
85. Sorry, of course you couldn’t understand me; I got excited and, thus, spoke in my native language.
Billy:
Aha, so “arimo” means “stop.”
Semjase:
86. No, it means “halt;” that’s the difference.
Billy:
But what’s the matter, then? Do you have something against it if I properly bring the box up to speed once or if I let it circle around at all? You could have, nevertheless, said that directly.
Semjase:
87. I have nothing to object to that because I’ve already known for a long time that you have endeavored to be able to fly the ship once.
88. And I also know very well that you can do it.
89. But did you pay attention to the speed just now?
Billy:
Of course, it was just less than 290,000 kilometers per hour; I didn’t want to grind the mill any further because of the time and so on. You even said yourself that it is very dangerous if one exceeds the speed of light with the normal drive or simply at all, without diving, at the same time, into hyperspace.
Semjase:
90. Sure – you actually kept that in mind?
Billy:
Should I lie to you, then?
Semjase:
91. To me, that would be something completely foreign to you. –
92. Sorry, I needlessly excited myself.
93. I felt as though you hadn’t considered the facts regarding the speed.
94. But that obviously isn’t so, as you say.
95. You can steer my ship calmly, if you like.
96. But please pay attention here; if you should lose control, then simply press these three contact points in the grid.
97. By these, everything turns to the zero position and the automatic control mechanism regulates everything within a split-second; thus, no dangers can appear.
98. But despite everything, please pay attention to the speed.
Billy:
Done, girl. So have no fear.
Semjase:
99. Good, then now, I’ll devote myself to the drawing.
Billy:
That’s nice; then I also want another time.
Semjase:
100. But please note my instruction.
Billy:
Of course; nevertheless, don’t worry all the time. I certainly don’t act carelessly.
Semjase:
101. I will probably never understand your type, but you Earth human beings are all a bit strange in this way.
Billy:
You mean because of the sense of adventure and such?
Semjase:
102. Sure, it’s something completely foreign to me.
Billy:
We Earth worms are, after all, still a type of ancient swashbuckler – at least some of us. The unknown simply beckons us, and the harder life hits us, the more we can enjoy it. I will teach you this all right, perhaps when we shake a dinosaur’s paw.
Semjase:
103. May reason keep me from that.
Billy:
You see, that’s exactly what you have to turn off, for it inhibits everything in such matters because it generates anxiety. Reason tells you that a dinosaur is an evil beast, but the intellect says that the little creature only acts crazy when it feels excited. Thus, if we shake its paw quite peacefully, then it will start to be happy, but not to turn around.
Semjase:
104. I don’t understand your humor.
Billy:
My words are meant seriously.
Semjase:
105. ???
Billy:
Look, your reason tells you or told you that I could rev up your mill over the speed of light, which is why you also got excited. After my explanation, however, you calmed yourself down, for your intellect taught you, through my explanation, that you don’t need to be afraid because I really took into account the factor that caused you anxiety. This means, then, that you have to see the facts exactly as they actually are. Of course, you can also be mistaken once, and then the salad is simply baked and everything is in the vinegar. Moreover, what is 290,000 kilometers per hour anyway? After all, it’s just a breeze compared to the speed of light, which is, indeed, about 300,000 kilometers per second.
Semjase:
106. You say that so easily, but I can’t deny you the logic in it.
107. Maybe I do actually let myself be guided too much by reason in certain things, without considering, at the same time, the intellectual concerns in a proper measure.
Billy:
Certainly, but these wise sayings also weren’t cultivated in my own field. Sfath already taught them to me, namely when I was still a boy.
Semjase:
108. Nevertheless, you are more developed in them and in their observance than I am.
109. It may well be because of our high level of development that we have a different nature in such concerns.
110. With certainty, our somewhat finer dimension also exerts a certain influence on it.
111. Some time, I will have to talk with my people about it because I think that a different forming in these things would be of use for us.
Billy:
So, so – you, therefore, suddenly believe.
Semjase:
112. You split my words.
113. You know their meaning very well.
Billy:
Of course, I was just surprised that you’ve already sunk so much into our way of speaking. On the other hand, I’m also surprised that you suddenly speak so openly of your finer dimension, for you yourself have forbidden me from doing this up to now.
Semjase:
114. My explanation still gives no further clues.
Billy:
That’s right; therefore, let’s leave that. So let’s continue; you draw, and I try to convert the mill into scrap metal.
Semjase:
115. If you, at the same time, leave the Earth out of play…
Billy:
Huh?
Semjase:
116. Ha ha ha ha… ha ha ha ha!
Billy:
Ah, I understand, you switch very quickly. But I’m extremely glad that you strive for the type of us Earth worms.
Semjase:
117. It is much easier than I had assumed…
Billy:
But now, let’s actually do this…
(It takes 16 minutes before Semjase is finished with her drawing, and during that time, I wildly circle around with the ship, but unfortunately, only around the Earth and the Moon, which, to me, are things that are always in the way.)
Leave a Reply

