Neptune’s moons and rings

CR 227/569

Billy:
Unfortunately, yes. But another question, which was directed toward me and which I could not answer: it concerns the planet Neptune, or more precisely, its moons. To my knowledge, it is known to our astronomers that the planet has two moons – on the one hand, Nereid, and on the other hand, Triton. On my Great Journey, when I, through Ptaah’s kindness, was allowed to observe all SOL planets and their moons at close range, it was explained to me that Triton is the coldest structure among all the planets and moons in the SOL system. At a later time, Semjase took me back to the moon Triton, where I observed an interesting phenomenon, namely that, like out of volcanoes, some steams – regular steam jets – escaped from craters of the moon’s surface and then evaporated at a higher altitude. Now, I no longer remember what Semjase explained regarding what it concerned with these steams. That’s the one; on the other hand, I noticed that the planet Neptune doesn’t only have two moons but rather several of these. If I remember correctly, I counted eight larger ones, but in addition, still some smaller structures circled through the area.
Quetzal:
19. With the moons, it has its correctness; consequently, there is nothing further to say to that.
20. Concerning the steams, it is to be said that it concerns evaporating nitrogen ice, which freezes out during the wintertime and then evaporates, after the Triton winter, through the irradiation of the Sun again.
Billy:
So the Sun, with its radiation, still has a quite requisite strength even at this great distance. Neptune is, indeed, about 30 times as far from the Sun as the Earth. Also, its equatorial diameter is about 4 times larger than the Earth’s, so about 50,000 kilometers, and its mass is about 16 or 17 times that of the Earth. To my knowledge, it rotates on its own axis approximately every 16 hours. But still to the planet Neptune itself: I admired the large dark spot of a gigantic cyclone or even several of these, as this is likewise the case with Saturn. I also found the ring system of Neptune to be magnificent. My question, now, is whether you can tell me how big the cyclone-storm zone on Neptune is?
Quetzal:
21. The Earth would just fit into the zone.
Billy:
So the diameter is more than 12,000 kilometers.
Quetzal:
22. That is correct.
Leave a Reply

